Introduced at the 1955 Earls' Court Motor Show, the Jaguar 2.4 (retrospectively known as the MKI) was notable as the marque's first monocoque design. Powered by a 2443cc DOHC XK engine and reputedly capable of over 100mph, the luxuriously trimmed newcomer proved a deservedly strong seller. Although, a short production run - 1956-1959 - meant that its MKII successor was far more populous. Sporting the wider front grille and smaller rear wheel spats introduced in 1958, this particular example also boasts individual front seats and the twin options of (working) overdrive and a dashboard-mounted passenger grab handle. Extensively restored during the last few years, the Jaguar retains its original bodyshell albeit augmented with brand new wings, closing panels, replacement spats, new jacking points, inner / outer sills, front chassis cross member and 'crow's feet'. The bumper irons, chassis rails and rear spring carriers were re-metalled, the rear wheelarches repaired and the rear valance replaced before the whole of the underside was waxoyled. A bare metal repaint was undertaken, much re-chroming done, the dashboard re-veneered, a new steering wheel fitted and the original Tan leather upholstery cleaned. The factory-fitted engine (matching block and head numbers) was overhauled and attention paid to the water pump, carburettors, fuel pump, brakes (fronts uprated with Volvo 240/60 callipers), rear axle, Panhard Rod assembly, clutch, front wheel bearings, handbrake mechanism and rear springs. Benefiting from the fitment of new radial tyres all round, the sports saloon is described thus by the vendor: 'After restoration the car probably presented as well as it had done when new and there has been only minor wear and tear to the outside since. The interior is a joy to sit in. The Moss gearbox changes particularly nicely. The car comes with its owner's handbook and service manual, two nice period documents in their own right'.